The EYFS (Early Year’s Foundation Stage) is the stage of a child’s development from birth to the end of their first year (reception) at primary school. The EYFS Framework describes how early years practitioners should work with children and their families to support their learning and development.


EYFS 7 areas of learning

Children will usually develop the three prime areas first these are:

1. Personal, social and emotional development
2. Communication and language
3. Physical development

As children grow they will develop skills in the four specific areas in the four specific areas:

1. Literacy
2. Mathematics
3. Understanding the world
4. Expressive, art and design

Four themes of learning

If you would like further information on the EYFS framework please ask a member of staff or go to the link below.

Unique child

Every child is unique in their own way and we need to support their own identities and culture

Positive relationships

Meet the child’s needs, a feeling of security, warmth, and respect, To promote independence

Enabling environment

Value all people and value learning, strong partnership between staff and child

Learning and developing

We follow the characteristic of effective learning:

1. Playing and exploring
2. Active learning
3. Creating and thinking critically